Dachsberg 26: Bildsteinfelsen, Lehenkopfturm und Klosterweiher
Mittel
From Inner-Urberg to the Lehenkopfturm tower with views of St. Blasien and the Feldberg region, then along the Schluchtensteig trail to the Klosterweiher pond. Continue to the Albsteig, via the somewhat adventurous smugglers' path to the Bildstein rock with a beautiful view. Then it's back to Inner-Urberg.
Details der Tour
Empfohlene Jahreszeit
- J
- F
- M
- A
- M
- J
- J
- A
- S
- O
- N
- D
Besonderheiten der Tour
Aussichtsreich / Geologische Highlights / Botanische Highlights
Wegebeschaffenheit
This trail is characterised by a variety of landscapes with great viewpoints, sunny open plateaus and deep forests.
It starts in the mining town of Urberg. First we head towards St. Blasien. We come to the Lehenkopf. It is worth climbing the tower here for a beautiful view of St. Blasien and in all directions.
The monastery pond was created as a small reservoir in the 18th century as a fish pond for the former St. Blasien monastery. Today it is owned by the Klosterweiherhof country inn.
In summer, the pond invites you to enjoy a special kind of bathing experience.
The monastery pond and its banks are a habitat for a number of protected plants and small creatures, and a spawning ground for numerous frogs and toads. The carnivorous sundew and various orchids can be found in the meadows.
One of the most exciting sections of the Albsteig trail follows after Wittenschwand. It leads over the smugglers' path, along steep, imposing rock faces and through a scree slope that requires surefootedness.
Afterwards, the Bildstein rock offers a wonderful view over the Alb valley and to the Alps. Below the rock, a short, very steep, partially secured path leads to a small cave.
Back in Urberg, you can visit the mineral museum on Thursdays and Sundays from 2 - 4 p.m. and take a break in the Café zum Alten Engel with its idyllic, romantic garden from Thursday to Sunday.
Interesting facts about the places along the way:
The hamlets belonging to Urberg originated from clearing settlements that were established under the influence of the St. Blasien monastery. The "Urberge" were first mentioned in 1237. Mining for silver and lead can be traced back to 1328 in Urberg and continued until 1835. Fluorite and barite were mined in the "Gottesehre" mine in Oberbildstein until 1987. Today, the "Gottesehre Mineral Museum" in Inner-Urberg, inaugurated in 2002, and the mining trail near Rüttewies are reminders of the village's rich mining history.
Wittenschwand is the main village in the municipality of Dachsberg. The individual districts originated from clearing settlements that were created under the influence of the St. Blasien monastery. Wittenschwand was first mentioned in 1266.
Mining was already flourishing between Wittenschwand and Urberg around 1100. The former "Friedrich-August-Grube" silver and nickel mine is located near Wittenschwand, right next to the monastery pond. There is an accessible tunnel and a nature adventure and themed playground on the site.
The trail runs partly along the Schluchtensteig. It leads over 119 kilometres through the Southern Black Forest Nature Park. It is characterised by exposed paths along steep gorges, spectacular views and numerous gorges and waterfalls. There are also many magnificent viewpoints with sweeping panoramic views as far as the snow-capped Swiss Alps.
In the municipality of Dachsberg, the Schluchtensteig trail runs behind the Lehenkopf to the north of Urberg via the Klosterweiher and to the Ibacher Panoramaweg.
Another part of the trail follows the Albsteig Schwarzwald, which runs for 83 kilometres along the Alb from Albbruck in the Rhine Valley to the Feldberg and the Herzogenhorn. Rock-lined gorges and magnificent views, quiet and picturesque places seemingly far away from civilisation and lots of nature offer special experiences.
{{=it.label.text}}
{{=it.label.author}}